Movies you should see: Wolf Children by Mamoru Hosoda

Image

Movies you should see: Wolf Children by Mamoru Hosoda

One of the very first things that got me into the art world was my love for Japanese animation. I started drawing Sailor Moon at the age of 9, and never stopped. I kinda fell out of the loop with anime once I got into college. I don’t find too many gems anymore, but this movie is one of the best anime movies I’ve ever seen in my life.
People are already praising this man as the next Hayao Miyazaki (Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke) Mighty big shoes to fill, in my opinion, but he is certainly well on his way in that direction.
Basic synopsis: A woman marries a werewolf and bears his two children. After he dies unexpectedly, she moves to the country where her children can choose which paths their lives will take. Human? Or Wolf?

This movie is easily now a favorite of mine and my boyfriend’s. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves anime, and loves a sweet story about love and family.

If you like this movie, and want to see more of Hosoda’s work, watch Summer Wars!

Wolf Children trailer:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ns8PWyfEz60

Leave a Reply

